Kansas 4th DUI Offense
Fourth Kansas Drunk Driving Offense
- Classification: Felony
- Jail Time: From 90 days up to 1 Year
- Jail Time: Add 30 Days for Passenger Under 14
- Supervised Probation: 1 Year After Release from Jail
- Fine: $2,500
- Additional Assessments
- Driver’s License Suspension: 1 Year
- Restricted Driving: 1 Year
- Restricted Driving: 4 Years if BAC > .15
- Complete Alcohol/Drug Evaluation and Treatment
- Community Service Possible
- Vehicle Impound Possible: Up to 1 Year
- License Plate/Registration Revocation: Up to 1 Year
- Mandatory Ignition Interlock Device: 1 Year
Penalties for a Fourth Kansas DUI Offense
A Fourth Kansas DUI Conviction is a Felony, carrying jail time from 90 days up to one year. With a passenger under age 14, 30 days is added to your sentence, to be served consecutively. After release from incarceration, you must serve a minimum one year of supervised probation.
You’ll also face a fine of $2,500, and a minimum driver’s license suspension of one year, followed by one year of restricted driving privileges (or 4 years of restricted driving, if your BAC was greater than 0.15), during which you will be required to install an ignition interlock device (a device that takes a breath sample from you and prevents your car from starting if you have any BAC).
You must complete alcohol/drug abuse treatment. The Kansas DUI court judge could order your vehicle to be impounded by the state for up to one year, leaving you responsible for either paying impoundment and storage fees or forfeiting the vehicle.
The state could also revoke your license plate/auto registration for up to one year. After your driver’s license suspension ends, the state department of transportation will require you to drive an additional year, before restoring full driving privileges.